Alf Perry
1935 Open Champion - Muirfield
Alf Padgdam
1936 Open Champion - Royal Liverpool
Max Faulkner
1951 Open Champion - Royal Portrush
Arthur Havers
1923 Open Champion - Royal Troon
Dick Burton - far left
1939 Open Champion - St Andrews
Sir Henry Cotton
1934 - Royal St Georges, 1937 - Carnoustie, 1948 - Muirfield

6 Open Champions- 8 Open victories

Not every sport allows amateurs to play on the same venue as the professionals. Dunstable Downs is proud of its association with the PGA Match Play Golf Tournament held in the days when guile, strategy and technique were as important as length off the tee. It would be unimaginable today for Woods, Speith, McIlroy, Molinari & Lowry to visit any course in Bedfordshire for a prestigious golfing competition but in 1952 this is exactly what happened on Dunstable Downs. 6 Open Champions, responsible for 8 victories in in 1923, 1934, 1935, 1936, 1937, 1939, 1948 & 1951, all competed that day in August 1952 in the Southern and Overseas PGA Championship.